Optimal Size for Background Images

If you need help and cannot find it in the FAQ area of this forum feel free to ask the question and someone will reply back.

Moderators: webmaster, Christian, Kuok-Tim, ChrisClark, Forum Support

Optimal Size for Background Images

Postby funkleberry » Sat Dec 13, 2003 5:28 pm

Would someone be able to give us the exact optimal size for a backround image? If the image is too small, it will be stretched and the aspect ratio becomes distorted. If the image files are to large, a slower computer really bogs down when trying to manage these files. I suppose trial and error are a good teacher, but perhaps someone has already been there and we could benefit from their experience :lol:
funkleberry
Junior

Postby Williamting » Sun Dec 14, 2003 8:23 am

I am not an expert on JPG but if someone out there can chip in to offer some interesting insight to this topic would be nice. I am also interested to know more.

There are two questions raised by you: 1. Aspect ratio 2: Image size

1. Aspect ration is normally 4:3 (800x600) for normal graphic card. You can find this out from your display properties under the "Setting" tab.

2. Image size varies depending on the level of compression, "complexity", etc. This means that even though you have a picture of 800x600 pixel, your picture size could be 100's of Kbytes or Mbytes.